June 12, 2014

  • The Dusty Sky

    The hazy clouds filter all but the hottest part of the sun
    She parches the earth with her piercing tongue
    The washed sky
    bleached blue
    The white sands
    lifted high on the wind
    I ride along
    all alone in this deserted land
    all their bones lying on the ground
    meanwhile
    been a while
    Since I heard the sound of rain fall
    Still thunder calls off in the distance
    But it never rains here

    The hazy clouds hide all but the brightest spot of the sun
    Still she parches me with her piercing tongue
    The washed sky
    bleached blue
    The hot sands
    burning in the wind
    I drift along
    all alone in these desert lands
    all their homes lying in ruins
    meanwhile
    it's been a while
    since I saw her smile
    Still the thunder echoes off in the distance
    but it never seems to rain 'round here

    The haze burns into the clouds
    It is hard to spot the sun
    She parches my tongue
    the washed sky
    bleached blue
    the hot sand
    burning me
    I drift on the wind
    all alone in this forsaken land
    my home lying in ruin
    meanwhile
    it's been a while
    since I saw the smiles
    of children playing in the rain
    as the thunder echoes off in the distance

     

     

Comments (15)

  • There are times where someone is missing! :)
    In friendship,John
    Michel

  • Ok, sorry to be posting something relatively irrelevant but does anyone have any idea how one would go about getting back on Xanga??? I used to have a site here before it became a pay site, but it has disappeared. I would like to make a new site but can't because apparently they don't allow new sites???

    Alternatively, would anyone be interested in handing their site off to me? Hey, no harm in asking.

    Hopefully adding my website (a tumblr) will allow people to respond to me. I allow anonymous comments in "ask me anything" and I don't thin you have to belong to tumblr to send me a message.

    Any direction would help, thanks!!

  • I continue to be impressed each time I get over to visit your site with all of the talents God has gifted you! I really like the music, and the poem is so well done. I like the patterns of sameness, yet difference as you go throughout each stanza. Thank you for sharing, John.
    Carolyn

  • What a nostalgic poem to write. Love the words and the nostalgia they bring out. So well written.
    Hope you had a grand day yesterday John.

  • Happy Father's Day, John!
    and Happy Father's Day to your Dad! :-)
    HUGS for all!!! :-)

  • Sounds very like California.

  • After your messsage , John , make a try with this :http://fauquet.xanga.com/

  • Happy Fathers Day John!!!!

  • The words of your poem become the notes of your music, John.
    In friendship
    Michek

  • Who are the Visigoths?! Something for me to worry about yet? :P

    I do love the west but the desert isn't where I'd choose to live. The west has a lot of resources for people to mine. But you live in NY, right? You vacation in Amangiri? :D

  • I wrote a comment last night, but Xanga wouldn't let me post it since I had already posted one comment. That seems to be Xanga's rule for me. At night I can only make one comment. It's not that way the rest of the day. Whine. Anyway your post made me think of dry season in Africa. When the rainy season finally comes the children play so exuberantly in the rain.

  • Oh, yay! I love when you share your music! :-)
    Perfect pairing of words and music!
    I'm hoping the dusty summer sky gets some rain soon!
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Loved the musical accompaniment - fit the poem perfectly! The use of anaphora worked very nicely!

  • John that was really nice to read. I enjoyed it. I live in parched California. We really need some rain, but the Weatherman has cut us off.

  • Well written, John! This sounds just like what is happening in the great southwest!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment