May 18, 2014

  • Morning

    In the hour before
    daylight breaks
    the trees start to wake
    robins test the score

    From here in my dream
    something shakes
    the earth starts to quake
    bats exit the scene

    We are alone here
    you and I
    asleep not alive
    hibernating bears

    Slowly light seeps in
    eyes open
    is this world more real
    than the other feels?

    Colorless colored dawn
    odorless scent
    silent music plays
    untouching touched souls

    It is time to rise
    breath the air
    her life fills the skies
    nature everywhere

    We are up again
    recycling
    to lie down again
    we keep recycling

     

Comments (16)

  • This poem says it is not time to fall in lethargy but to never give up and seize life in full arm!
    Well done,John
    In friendship
    Michel

  • I see what you mean about you and Zakiah being so similar in your thoughts as you wrote these poems. Your choice of language makes me sense the same things you describe... from the "Hour before ..." to the "...hibernating bears" and "light seeps in..." to the 4th stanza where I had sensory experiences in the negative (ex.- odorless, et al) ... right down to the last stanza of "... recycling." --- you had me completely!
    Thanks for sharing with us. :-)

  • Excellent! You are a natural.

  • Trees that start to wake sounds terrifying. I have visions of that walking tree thing from Lord of the Rings. But, the image sticks with you!

  • yes, I'm a little afraid of doing anything physical. LOL

    I used to ride a horse bareback when I was a teen and young adult and never broke anything. In my 40's I took up skiing and same thing.

  • recycle - renew - rejoyce

    how awesome is this =)

  • Dang, John, this bit touched me to the core of my soul. Last night I couldn't fall asleep, therefore I sat up and wrote something similar... not as philosophical as what you've done here, but it reminds me of my feelings.

  • Recycling, huh? I always think of sleep as recharging my battery! :-)

  • So beautiful....Heart warming balm for the soul...

  • I am 80. My heart is still 17. I wake up wanting to have fun. Predawn for me is wanting to know is it 5 am yet so I can get up and get going again. Even as kid, I hated staying in bed---I wanted some action.

  • I can wear my tennis shoes again.

  • envelope rhyme?

    that is news to me but I'm not a poet like Val.

    I like it

  • This made me tear up. I've been doing that a lot the past couple of days. Thank you for the soul balm.

  • Oh! This is such a beautiful poem! Sigh-worthy! :-)
    The wordpic's are vivid! The emotions are deep! Pre-dawn is a wonderful time each day and can be compared to a part of our lives...yes, we keep breathing, keep rising, keep recycling. :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Lovethe circular rhythm of this -- just like life, we keep recycling!

  • There is a flow and rhythm to life and that circle keeps spinning (I'm glad that it does)! A marvelous envelope rhyme!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment