September 12, 2014

  • Gatos en la Noche

    January 1st 2012, whilst in Guayaquil I turned to close the shade before retiring for the evening.

    A shadow caught my eye shifting swiftly across the courtyard beyond the alley.

    A cat scampered across the concrete wall and up the Spanish tile roof, followed by its shadow, and then another and its shadow and yet one other and its shadow.

    As quickly as they appeared, they vanished somewhere, where cats go to gather in the night.

    Too abrupt to capture with my camera I grabbed my sketchbook and rendered the fleeting moment.

    (Click on images for full size view)

    A0912142048a

    Pen and watercolor 1-1-2011

    I have been wanting to translate this moment onto canvas and finally yesterday I began...

    A0911141833e

    Acrylic on canvas 9-11-14

    And today I continued...

    A0912142047e

    "Tres Gatos en el Tejado"

    The Ghost Pepper shrub is contrived.

    I shall endeavor to complete the piece by day's end mañana.

    A0913141951

    Updated

Comments (20)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment